Dept. of Alternative Facts: Absurd

absurd: (adj) contrary to  all reason or common sense; laughably foolish

Congress’s attempts to Repeal the ACA at all costs has gotten so ridiculous that commentary hardly seems reasonable any more…

Senator…

The Senate has agreed to debate something related to health care, but I cannot figure out what the bill is. While I am an advocate of presenting positions on legislation for your colleagues and constituents to contemplate, a blank slate sees somewhat absurd. My speculation is that the Republican leadership is either aiming at a pork-barrel amendment process (e.g. buy the votes), or a bait-and-switch maneuver to change Majority Leader McConnell’s prior health care reconciliation bill into a “Repeal the Affordable Care Act”.

The first option of adding amendments to a bill that could not pass will just add chaos to the process of legislation and administering health care. The second option rejects the ACA for stubbornness or spite without a viable plan.

I’m trying to envision how such approaches to managing my personal life would play out.

If I wanted to drive from West Virginia to Washington, D.C. for a day at the museum, would I turn or stop at every whim of the passengers in the car? Or, cancel the trip just because I do not like the traffic on highway 66 through Northern Virginia?

If I wanted to buy groceries, would I wander through the store tossing into my cart whatever items caught my eye? Or, would I not go to the store because I do not like to have to pay for my groceries?

If I needed to fill up my vehicle with gas, would I drive from Baker, to Wardensville, to Mathias, or Moorefield to check on all the gas prices before deciding where to fuel up? Or, would I let my vehicle run out of gas because the price might be better somewhere else?

If I had a mortgage payment on my home would I send the checks off randomly to local banks? Or, would I just stop sending checks because I did not like my bank?

If I had a run-in with a neighbor over some local issue, would I go gossiping about them to our mutual neighbors? Or, would I just move out without a plan as to where I might go?

If my wife and I had a conflict, would I go randomly buying stuff on the Internet to make us feel better? Or, would I hop in my car and drive away without a plan (or gas, as I never resolved that in the third decision above)?

I hope these examples illustrate what I mean by absurd. Need I say that I do not approve of this process, nor will I approve of voting to repeal the ACA without a thoughtful alternative.

 

About hermitsdoor

Up here in the mountains, we have a saying, "You can't get there from here", which really means "We wouldn't go the trouble to do that". Another concept is that "If you don't know, we ain't telling." For the rest, you'll have to read between the lines.
This entry was posted in Ideas and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dept. of Alternative Facts: Absurd

  1. Chet says:

    I think I am going to forward your blog to the Nevada Senator Dean Heller, who voted to approve. I already sent him a strongly worded e-mail. Thanks for the laugh.

  2. Laurie Graves says:

    Excellent post! This is a subject very close to my heart as I am a recipient of insurance through the Affordable Care Act. For me, the ACA has worked just the way it was supposed to work. It is affordable and provides me with good care. I realize this is not true for everyone. Fix the darn thing! Don’t just throw it out. I live in dread that I will be without health insurance for a few years until I am old enough for for Medicare. Oh, my!

  3. The Vicar says:

    Third option: When common sense fails, duels.

This Hermit's Door is Open: Step in & Share Your Opinion

