Farm Life: Japanese Maple Tree

You all have been enjoying reading about my tree seedling planting.  I thought of one more.  In the morning, the light brightly illuminates a Japanese Maple which I planted more than 25 years ago, after we first purchased our lot and before we built our cabin.  The seedling was one I found growing in the edge of dirt around the apartment building at which I lived in Jackson Heights, Queen, NYC.  

The building manager gave me permission to work on the gardens, which mostly consisted of neglected hedges, dirt, rocks, condoms, and hypodermic needles (urban gardening hazards).  As I worked around the building, I found numerous volunteer Japanese Maple seedlings.  Several, I strategically planted between windows so that they would fill in with their green and purples understory level shade.  This one I transported via Amtrak to Washington, D. C., then brought out here.

I found a volunteer dogwood growing nearby a couple of years ago.  It had a few flowers on it this year.  An Arbor Day Foundation lilac stands to its right. This is the first year that I recall it blooming.  Together, they add some color to the edge of our yard and the forest.  Gardening need not be planned, just discovered and nurtured.

About hermitsdoor

Up here in the mountains, we have a saying, "You can't get there from here", which really means "We wouldn't go the trouble to do that". Another concept is that "If you don't know, we ain't telling." For the rest, you'll have to read between the lines.
This entry was posted in Farm Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Farm Life: Japanese Maple Tree

  1. You and British blogger Hilary (Green Writing room) both seem to have great luck with getting seedlings from the Japanese maple trees. I never have, and I wonder if one needs certain kind of weather or special ‘effects’!

  2. KerryCan says:

    It could be children’s book–the urban maple moves to the country and discovers a new life!

  3. Laurie Graves says:

    Wonderful story! And I especially love “Gardening need not be planned, just discovered and nurtured.” It belongs in a book of garden quotations.

This Hermit's Door is Open: Step in & Share Your Opinion

