Dept of Alternative Facts: Assertion

Assertion (n): a declaration

In logic and reasoning or scientific discussion, an assertion is a declaration without supporting evidence.  In propaganda, an assertion is a point made to persuade someone to a conclusion without giving evidence for that assertion.  In a debate, an assertion can be defeated by presenting counter evidence which highlights that the speaker’s trial balloon is full of hot air and nothing more.

President Trump made the following assertion in a Tweet on Sunday 7/22/17:

“Watched protests yesterday but was under the impression that we just had an election! Why didn’t these people vote? Celebs hurt cause badly.”

His assertion is that the people attending the Women’s March did not vote, and thus are a bunch of whiners.   I sent him my response to clarify some data that does not support his unsubstantiated position:

Dear President Trump,                                                                                 January 22, 2017

Congratulations on your recent inauguration. I look forward to a lively term in office, given your style of campaigning for the election.

In one of your Twitter messages today (Sunday, January 22, 2017), you asked rhetorical questions about the Women’s March on Saturday, January 21, 2017. I wanted to answer these questions from my perspective.

First, you questioned why those marching had not voted in the election. For clarification, I and my three companions to the march did vote. I cannot account for the other 589,996 estimated marchers.

Second, you questioned why we were marching. For myself, I was marching for my wife, the female co-worker and friend who were with me. I was marching for my mother and aunts. I was marching for my sisters-in-law. I was marching for my nieces. As a therapist, I was marching for many of my female clients.

You may have been wondering about those silly pink caps with cat-ears. The accusations about your sexual advances toward numerous women, whether accurate or not, touched many of us. Moreover, your dismissive, callous response to these accusations, brought up awful memories of personal abuses of power by men toward women.

I know women who have been terribly violated by rape and human-trafficking. More often, the man used his position for less penetrating offenses such as copping a feel or pressuring a woman for sexual favors.

My concern is how you use power to belittle and intimidate other’s. Maybe those who voted for you like your “My way or the highway” attitude, but his is not a way to govern. Under those silly pink caps are a lot of smart women (and men) who will call you on your bullying behavior.

One of the speakers who impressed me at the march was Senator Kamala from California. She recited what are “women’s issues”: the economy, national security, health care, climate change, criminal justice reform, education, immigration reform, student debt, black-lives, equal pay… I marched to highlight that I want you to address women’s issues, such as these.

Sincerely yours… 

About hermitsdoor

Up here in the mountains, we have a saying, "You can't get there from here", which really means "We wouldn't go the trouble to do that". Another concept is that "If you don't know, we ain't telling." For the rest, you'll have to read between the lines.
This entry was posted in Ideas and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Dept of Alternative Facts: Assertion

  1. cindy knoke says:

    Oh good for you! I am proud of you!

  2. Count me, too, Oscar…proud of you! We’ll said. Well done! So good. So proud!!

  3. Laurie Graves says:

    What a wonderful letter! It should be read from coast to coast.

    • hermitsdoor says:

      Our county newspaper prints “Intercepted Letters”, which is a way to kick politicians in the butt, or praise the fund-drive last week. This letter was published last week. So far no one has called and left nasty voice mails. I’ll see if the other side of the hallow has sent a rebuttal in today’s weekly when it arrives in the mail. Oh, the joys of small town life. 😉

  4. Emily McKenney says:

    Good for you!! I agree!!! See you soon. Have a good day off.I am on my way!! Love, Emily

  5. Mother Suzanna says:

    Wow, powerful letter…I was expecting a reply from the president himself!!!

  6. The Vicar says:

    Thanks for your uncommon common sense.

  7. Pingback: Dept. of Alternative Facts: Official Replies | hermitsdoor

This Hermit's Door is Open: Step in & Share Your Opinion

