From the Bookshelf: Two Memoirs by Cynthia Reyes

p1050942We have several rocking chairs in our cabin.  In each of our great-rooms, you can find a place to sit and rock while relaxing.  When reading two memoirs by Cynthia Reyes, A Good Home and An Honest House, I envision Cynthia and her husband, Hamlin, sitting in two of those rocking chairs, sharing their stories.  Cynthia’s recollections of her life are delightful, humble and humbling, and inspiring.

p1050954Her first memoir, A Good Home, shares her childhood stories, growing up in Jamaica through her education and career in Canada.  She organizes these events around each house that she lived in and how these became her home.

We usually consider a house the physical place of residence, while the home embodies the experiential aspects of those who live in that place.  Cynthia shows the transformation  a house into a home, to include the place, the furnishings, the people, and the events.  Our lives can be organized by those places in which we lived the experiences which form us into the people whom we are.  Without the place, where would we be and how did we get to where we are?

While a few folks live most of their lives in one place, most of us travel from destination to destination, both in terms of the houses that make up our lives and the events that occur in those locations.  Cynthia chronicles the houses and homes in which she lived.  Her stories  describe how each influenced her ambitions, determination, and doubts about life.  More than a series of recollections, Cynthia allows us to contemplate our own houses and life events, as if we were enjoying a visit in those rocking chairs in our great room.

p1050955An Honest House continues Cynthia’s accounts of her experiences over the past few years.  Rather than spanning decades of living and growing, she focuses on the recent years, since the publication of her first memoir.  She is confined, physically and symbolically to one house.  This is a story of recovery.

As Cynthia and my readers know, my work is in occupational therapy. One of the Life Skills groups that I facilitate in an out-patient behavioral health program is a Recovery Group.  Now, I usually shy away from leisure reading that seems too much like work.  Reading poetry or blog posts about people’s struggles and anxieties about life usually extend the cognitive and emotional energy that  I invest into guiding people in healing.  Reading Cynthia’s anecdotes about her injury and recovery are not burdensome.

When I introduce the Recovery Group, I emphasize two points.  First, recovery is guided by each individual.  One’s desires and ambitions establish one’s goals, not a therapist.  Thus, if half a dozen people are in the group, they probably have half a dozen different expectations for recovery.  Second, recovery is a process.  Each group member may be at a different part of her or his recovery, and may use different methods at different times.  As a therapist, I can recite a whole variety of possible methods.  What will work for any particular individual depends on how she or he defines recovery, personal factors, such as prior life experiences, interests, and talents, and one’s social network and supports.

For Cynthia, her recovery involves a variety of people, objects, events, and the place she calls an honest home.  Obvious people include her husband, family members, neighbors, doctors, counselors, therapist, church friends, and book club attendees.  The objects can be books, fountain pens, and the kitchen.  The events can be meals with family and friends, gardening, and book club readings of her first memoir.

An important step in recovery is when we can take our experiences of transformation and relay them to other people.  Healing is a cycle.  At some point, we recognize that we can help someone else in her or his process of recovery.  In An Honest House, Cynthia becomes a healer for others.

About hermitsdoor

Up here in the mountains, we have a saying, "You can't get there from here", which really means "We wouldn't go the trouble to do that". Another concept is that "If you don't know, we ain't telling." For the rest, you'll have to read between the lines.
This entry was posted in From the Bookshelf, Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to From the Bookshelf: Two Memoirs by Cynthia Reyes

  1. Emily McKenney says:

    Hi Oscar, Yes, I agree she is a good author. I enjoyed the book you gave me. Love, Emily

  2. Oscar: thank you very much for buying my books, reading them, and now this blog post. Each of these actions is a gift, and I am blessed indeed.
    I also very much appreciate your insights as a therapist. You must have come across so many individuals on recovery journeys such as mine and thank you for reading about my own journey. I hope your patients are much less obstinate Type A’s, though!

    • hermitsdoor says:

      Client’s come in all times from those who tell me what I am going to do, to those who flow. My challenge, and what I enjoy about my “work”, is the creativity which I draw upon each day. In some ways, each session is different, even when I start with the same theme, because each individual, or group of individuals is different.

  3. Reblogged this on Cynthia Reyes – Author and commented:
    How fascinating for me to read a perspective on my books from a reader who is also a therapist! From what I know about many of my fellow-bloggers, I think you’ll find it interesting too. My thanks to Oscar.

  4. It’s always nice to hear a recommendation for a worthwhile book. Also – I think I have the sister chair to your reading chair 🙂

  5. Laurie Graves says:

    “An Honest House” is a terrific book. As I especially enjoyed the stories about Jamaica, I will have to read “A Good Home” sometime soon!

  6. Great review and perspective on Cynthia’s wonderful books. Thanks, Brad

  7. Cynthia’s sharing of her experiences be it tragedy, change, hardship, friendship, love, loss or happiness has a way of forcing you to reflect on your own life. Both books offer so much to readers and are truly inspiring. Tina

  8. The Vicar says:

    Thanks Hermit! My wife and I are taking time in the evenings to read to each other from your gift of “A Good Home”. We’ve enjoyed Cynthia’s remembrances of the places and people throughout her life journey. It’s also been interesting to reflect back on the homes we grew up in, and the homes we raised our families in, along with the home we now inhabit.

  9. KerryCan says:

    I follow Cynthia’s blog, too, and have been interested in her books but haven’t read them yet. You do a great job reviewing them, from a knowledgeable perspective!

    • hermitsdoor says:

      Do order them. Fit a chapter in here and there between weaving projects. I found that I did not want to read too many chapters at once, because I wanted to think about her stories, rather than have one cascaded into the next. Then again, I don’t sit still very long.

  10. Really enjoyed your review of this book. I read Cynthia’s first book and enjoyed it and now you’ve motivated me to seek out her second.

  11. Annika Perry says:

    What a beautiful, thoughtful and considered review of Cynthia’s books. I’m captivated by these and want to read them as soon as I have a chance. Many thanks for sharing.

  12. Chloris says:

    A good review of a wonderful book.

  13. restlessjo says:

    I have meant to read Cynthia’s books for the longest time. Thank you for encouraging me to do it. 🙂

This Hermit's Door is Open: Step in & Share Your Opinion

