Geeking Out in Silicon Valley

img_1005What could be more techy than being a geek in Silicon Valley?  Having grown up here before the digital age, my associations of this region are different from the post-dot-com millionaires.  I come here not to seek my fortune, but to visit family.  That does not mean that one cannot be a geek.

I started my vacation here with a visit to the Apple Store on University Avenue in Palo Alto.  The latest upgrade of to the Sierra operating system has put my photo activity into havoc and guerrilla warfare tactics to try to get is functioning it correctly.  Two Apple Geniuses later, I sort of had a solution, which is really to delete all my photos from this year and reload them.

My mother does not recall seeing any of the Star Wars movies.  As I took her to see Episode VII back in January when I visited, I decided to bring the DVD’s for Episodes 1, 2, & 3.  Three evenings in a row we watch each of the DVD’s in sequence.  Okay we now know who Oby-what’s-his-kanoby is and how Garth Vader came to be.

p1080801Then, today, while walking back from the grocery store, my brother spotted a Google-bike parked along a side street.  “We could go for a bike ride later and return the bike to one of the Google office buildings.”  “Might someone have parked it there with plans to ride it back.”  “No one’s riding it now.”  I’m caught between the moral concerns that if I take the bike someone else will be deprived of a ride back to the office (on a Saturday morning?), but if I do not, then the bike might not make its way back to Google.

p1080802We had a lovely ride down along Steven’s Creek to the bay; out along the levies that circumnavigate Moffit Field naval air base, Ames Research wind-tunnels, and a highly secretive tech company, which posted signs “No photography or sketching…”  But, there was this great view of the bay and lots of waterfowl.  I decided to leave my camera in the GBike basket until we found a competitor, at which the irony of photographing the GBike in front of its sign was too tempting.

We did return the GBike to the Google Executive office parking lot.  I walked about a mile home.

 

p1080803

About hermitsdoor

Up here in the mountains, we have a saying, "You can't get there from here", which really means "We wouldn't go the trouble to do that". Another concept is that "If you don't know, we ain't telling." For the rest, you'll have to read between the lines.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Geeking Out in Silicon Valley

  1. KerryCan says:

    I am having computer issues that seem to revolve around attempting an upgrade to Sierra . . . and my photos. I guess i need to do some research–the nearest Apple store is 3 hours away. Your trip home sounds like lots of fun!

    • hermitsdoor says:

      Our closest Apple store is 2 hours, but only 20 minutes from my parent’s home. I used Aperature for several years, but Apple no longer supports this software. I thought that I had transferred my Aperature photo libraries to Photo, but kept getting messages that I needed to open Movies. What I did not realize was that because of a couple of digital videos, all my photos were put into Movies instead. What has worked for me was to delete the images from Photos, then move the files with the photos from Movies to Photos. So far Photos is working for me now.

  2. Sounds like you’ve gone Californian! Fun post.

  3. rommel says:

    Fun, fun, fun. You let loose on this trip. WTG

This Hermit's Door is Open: Step in & Share Your Opinion

