Color Your Quilt

p1050917My cousin recently wrote about the new trend of meditative coloring.  I used to comb museum shops for coloring books that were aimed at an audience older than 10.  Now I find floral designs on the magazine racks at Tractor Supply Company or the local gas station mini-mart… right next to “Hobbie Farm” and “Guns and Ammo”.   I suspect that tatoo artists are moon-lighting to create the supply for the demand.  A hundred years ago, folks did designs with clothe.  Welcome to the patterns of quilts.  At the annual Heritage Weekend in our county, the local quilters host a quilt show.  I lean toward the old-fashioned, hand stitched quilts, myself.  Take your pick.

p1050929 p1050927 p1050926 p1050925 p1050924 p1050930 p1050931 p1050932 p1050920

About hermitsdoor

Up here in the mountains, we have a saying, "You can't get there from here", which really means "We wouldn't go the trouble to do that". Another concept is that "If you don't know, we ain't telling." For the rest, you'll have to read between the lines.
This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Color Your Quilt

  1. KerryCan says:

    I lean toward the old-fashioned, hand stitched quilts as well! These are lovely–I like the navy and white star quilt the best.

  2. Mother Suzana says:

    Aside from quilts, do you remember your Grandfather’ Dick’s books of intricate designs. He found great comfort in the making these designs. You should have had them when you were looking for “over 10” art designs. I wonder who has them now?

  3. rommel says:

    #8 for me. Looks like waves to me. 🙂

    • hermitsdoor says:

      I asked one of the quilters about the pattern. She said it was a variation of a “log cabin” square. Amazing how different the patterns can look based on how the quilter arranges the colors.

  4. Wow. Those quilts are gorgeous. 4th down, on left is my favourite!

This Hermit's Door is Open: Step in & Share Your Opinion

