Poem: Rumors

Conversations that never happened,
According to those who were not there.

“Not really sure, but I picked it up somewhere…
Maybe over beer and brat’s…
No, I dont’ think I was at that cookout…
I don’t know… I really didn’t pay attention…
But, I sure someone told me…
But, I didn’t give it much thought…”

Then, after reiteration, cycle after cycle,
It all seems so clear, sin after sin
Were so obvious.

“I could not believe he did that.
And, now he does not seem to be around as much.
I did not see him at the last cookout.
Must be guilty because he was not there.”

That confirms it, sin after sin, guilt after guilt.

“He avoid us.  I must be careful.
What I did not know might put me at risk.
I won’t go by.  I’ll not send that text.
I would not want anyone to think
That I might somehow be involved.”

Sins that never happened, guilt that never was,
Rumors that were never said.

Did anyone ever ask the one never judged,
But, who is indited by all who never listened?

About hermitsdoor

Up here in the mountains, we have a saying, "You can't get there from here", which really means "We wouldn't go the trouble to do that". Another concept is that "If you don't know, we ain't telling." For the rest, you'll have to read between the lines.
This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Poem: Rumors

  1. Nancy says:

    How true!

  2. Chet says:

    You have such a way with words. Nice poem — unfortunately it rings true. Human nature is frequently so disappointing.

  3. Judi says:

    I’ve discovered that the less I say, the more rumors I start.
    **** Bobby Clarke

    • Chet says:

      Same old, same old, for hundreds, maybe thousands of years– although I doubt people today are nearly as eloquent as Mr. Shakespeare.

  4. Mother Suzana says:

    Spot on!

This Hermit's Door is Open: Step in & Share Your Opinion

