My Vote Does Not Count

P1040526Candidate Trump visited West Virginia yesterday.  He told us Republican voters that the primary elections are over, he has won.  West Virginia holds is primary election on Tuesday.  Candidate Trump instructed West Virginia Republican voters to stay home and enjoy the day instead of voting.  I guess that he has the same attitude toward the other states that vote in the next month.

From my informal circle for Republican (as well as independent voters and libertarian) friends, I know of none who plan to vote for Trump in the primary or general elections.  One has even phrased it, “I’ll hold my nose and vote for Clinton.”

To help my friends go to the polls in November, I have made up a bunch of clothes pins with “NEVER” on one side, and “TRUMP” on the other.  Now they can walk proudly into the booth with their noses pinched while voting for Clinton.  Shall we call them Clinton Clips?

Let me know if you are holding your nose the election season.

About hermitsdoor

Up here in the mountains, we have a saying, "You can't get there from here", which really means "We wouldn't go the trouble to do that". Another concept is that "If you don't know, we ain't telling." For the rest, you'll have to read between the lines.
This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to My Vote Does Not Count

  1. KerryCan says:

    If I was Republican, I’d definitely be holding my nose! I hadn’t heard this about Trump telling people not to bother to vote. How dare he?

    • hermitsdoor says:

      He recanted on Twitter a few hours later, then sent out campaign literature a few days later. Yet, if that is an example of how he would be president, he better have a good press secretary running damage control.

  2. Mother Suzanne says:

    In all my 80 years, I’ve never seen a more irresponsible bunch of candidates! Our Founding Fathers, for all their disagreements, would be very sad to see what has happened!

  3. Your photo attracted my attention because it looked like a classroom activity at first glance so I clicked on it to see what I could use in the classroom. Yes, Trump has always had an ego. Please don’t feed it. Unfortunately, I do know someone voting for Trump. She seems to have a thing for egotistical men with inflated sense of self and who aren’t very kind to people. I say this because she is my ex mother in law! Haha! And her son and one of her grandkids is very much like this! Her current husband is much kinder and she views him as a wuss. It’s the whole “Nice guys finish last” concept. A very different view of the world than us non-Trump voters.

    • hermitsdoor says:

      A few years back I heard an analysis of language style in politics. From Roosevelt to Kennedy to Reagen the level of discourse in politics (e.g. speeches, congressional debates, etc.) was around 8th grade educational level (vocabulary and sentence structure). With Newt Gingrich’s 1984 Contract with American (aka Repubican Revolution), the educational level dropped to below 6th grade. More recently, vocabularly rarely includes 3 syllable words or complete sentences (except for filibuster run-on sentences). Historical and literary reference no longer cite Roman history, but quote Dr. Seuss. Maybe you were spot-on that this presidential election seems like 1st graders ranting. Of course, we all knew in 1st grade who the bully was.
      Thanks for commenting.

  4. The Vicar says:

    But I live in California and we have a lot of electoral votes, and our primary isn’t until June! Maybe
    I’ll cast a write in vote for Bernie Sanders in November. I’m really hoping this is all a bad dream and when I wake up its the year 2000. Wouldn’t it be great to re-write the last 16 years?

    • hermitsdoor says:

      So hard to punctuate when to go back to for revisions. Pre-9-11? Pre-1939? Pre-1914? And, those dates fall only in the past 100 years, or so… Hey, I did not believe that Republicans existed in California…

  5. rommel says:

    That is so clever! I really don’t know about this next election. When the time comes though, whoever sits in that high position, we have to support that person.

    • hermitsdoor says:

      Unfortunately, my observation is that the quality of leadership has been waning for some decades. Maybe I’m just getting older myself. Then again, Clinton will be 69, Trump 70, and Bernie older. I’m still leaning that the bullies in 1st grade are duking it out. However win will be oppressive, on one end or the other the spectrum.
      Oscar

This Hermit's Door is Open: Step in & Share Your Opinion

