Airport Art: Dallas-Fort Worth, Texas

IMG_2961Returning home from a recent West Coast trip, I had a lay-over of a couple of hours in the Dallas-Fort Worth International Airport.  I did not notice the art at first, as I briskly walked from gate D27 to D18 to verify the location for my next leg of the trip.  Yet, once I settled in I began to notice the public art in the terminal.  Not wanting to sit for two hours, after doing so in the half of the seat that my row companion allowed me to have of the first part of the trip, I decided to take a stroll.  Each end of the section of the terminal that I was in had a large, walk through sculpture.  At intersections, 15 foot diameter mosaics were set into the floor.  I suspect that most people saw these only peripherally, as I did when I first walked past.  But, I did see a couple of other people stop to snap photos as they passed by.

IMG_2958 IMG_2964

 

IMG_2960 IMG_2967

I also noticed, while strolling that the chairs were arranged not in the sterile rows common to airports, but set in clusters around triangular end-tables.  This allowed for couples travling together to face each other, and not take up half the row with their luggage.  Nice design feature.  Then I saw an abstract image of completely empty esculators, with only a cleaning staff person slowly descending the side stairs sweeping off each stairs as she came down.

IMG_2959 IMG_2962

About hermitsdoor

Up here in the mountains, we have a saying, "You can't get there from here", which really means "We wouldn't go the trouble to do that". Another concept is that "If you don't know, we ain't telling." For the rest, you'll have to read between the lines.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Airport Art: Dallas-Fort Worth, Texas

  1. Reblogged this on Saranac Art Projects and commented:
    Nice. Many places are changing to make travel a humane activity.

  2. Barneysday says:

    That must be a newly remodeled terminal. I’ve never seen anything like this in DFW. What a great sight.

    • hermitsdoor says:

      I do not fly through DFW often (I was using some frequent flier miles which took me on a different airline from usual). You did live in that region some life-times ago, I recall. I think that locations are trying to give travelers different experiences these days. I recall my first travels in the late 1960’s-early 1970’s when airports were utilitarian, but you got dressed up to fly on a plane. Then in the 80’s-90’s air ports became like bus-terminals. Now, they are more like shopping malls. Enjoy your next flight somewhere.

  3. KerryCan says:

    This was a fine, productive way to spend you layover! It makes me happy to see airports doing positive things with all that space. I don’t think I’ve ever been in DFW but now I’ll know that, when I do have to go through there, I can feat my eyes!

This Hermit's Door is Open: Step in & Share Your Opinion

