About

When I first started this blog, I did not know what the “About” post was, but it kept showing up.  I deleted it.  Subsequently, I learned that this is where bloggers write something about themself.  Well, reaching my 300th blog, it’s about time that I created an About.

I write this blog to be timely and timeless.  As our families live at distant corners of our country, this is a timely way to relay events in our daily lives.  As universal themes about life occur in the current events of our personal narratives, this is a way of observing the timeless elements that we share.  This blog is part journal, part letter, part photo album, part travel diary, and part philosophical rumination.  All those parts are story telling.

For those wanting the framework of those stories, we moved from the suburbs of Washington, D. C. to our log cabin in the Appalachian Mountains a decade ago.  We are half way up a short mountain with neighbors a mile in either direction.   That is close enough for us.  We spend our work days rehabilitating the young to old in a nearby, but still rural town.  We spend our days off puttering about the garden, tending to or vegetables and goats, traveling near and far, slipping into the cosmopolitan world for theatre and museums, and exploring our and other regions’ people, culture, and history.

For those seeking quick-reads and seven random facts style blogs will likely be lost after about 300 words.  Being concise is not a skill that I have ever been good at.  Viewing life simply does not work for me.  I rarely complete my thoughts and pull together my narratives in less than 1000 words, but beware that I can rattle on for 3000 words easily.  Drift along with my story, leave a comment or a Like, and come back again.  I typically post blogs once to twice per week, though when traveling my draft queue can get backed up.

If you enjoy my style of writing, subscribe or just drop by occasionally.  I know that back-reading someone’s blog is nearly impossible.  However, if you enjoy a topic, check out prior posts on that topic to find what thoughts live beyond the moment of the season at which I wrote.  For more details, I will direct you to read The Door Opens, On Half a Century, and The Blogger’s Relationship.

Thanks for stopping by, Oscar, The Hermit.

About hermitsdoor

Up here in the mountains, we have a saying, "You can't get there from here", which really means "We wouldn't go the trouble to do that". Another concept is that "If you don't know, we ain't telling." For the rest, you'll have to read between the lines.
This entry was posted in ABOUT, Reflections and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to About

  1. Chet says:

    It always brightens my day when I see you have a new blog post. It’s like a long newsy letter from home and makes me feel closer to you and Linda.

  2. Barneysday says:

    We’re a country apart, but I enjoy the connection we have from similar roots and value systems. It’s also such a small world, finding relatives literally next door, in the same city, in classes taken. That’s the human connection many lack these days.

  3. Barneysday says:

    Who are the two people in the picture???

    • hermitsdoor says:

      Hmmm. I did not recall including a photo with the About post. But, I see my header currently has two surfers sitting on one of the sea stacks at Sand Dollar Beach, near Gorda.

      • Barneysday says:

        Thought that might have been you, striking a reflective, thoughtful pose.

      • hermitsdoor says:

        No, the sea stack was a few hundred feet out in the water. I grew up near the Pacific Ocean. Way too cold for me to even bother taking my shoes off to put my toes into the water.

  4. The Vicar says:

    I greatly appreciate your ability to reflect, ponder, and connect on a wide variety of themes and experiences that are wonderfully woven into common threads in each of our lives. Thanks for enriching our lives with your insights…. and keep it up!

  5. rommel says:

    Geez! It took you 300 posts. Ahihihi :D. Just kidding. It took me about 66 posts before I did mine. I only get to update it just only once after that. It wasn’t so big of a deal for me.
    Well nice to meet you again, hermit’s door. 😀

    • hermitsdoor says:

      I think I realized that I deleted the “About” post which wordpress sets up because I did not know what it was. However, when bloggers Like or comment, I make an effort to check on their blog. Reading their “Abouts” gives me a sense of their approach to blogging. I thought I should give the courtesy back… of course my links are to long pieces, which will sort out who is really interesting in reading these…

  6. Well, my feet are up on the railing and feeling quite at home. I’ve brought biscuits to share….

This Hermit's Door is Open: Step in & Share Your Opinion

