LTTE: Work

Dear Editor,

While reading the January 30, 2013 edition of the Moorefield Examiner, I was thinking about work.  David’s My Unbased Opinion got me thinking about chores that I leaned to do as a child to earn my allowance, part and full time work that helped pay my way though college, and 25 years working in my career.  Those chores never went away.

Reading about Reverend Garber’s recent death, brought memories of his stories over the years through his Hardy Heritage column.  I shall miss this.  He spoke about his work as an educator: as a teacher, principal, and minister.  While he may have retired from this employment, he continued to employ himself in learning about our history and relating this knowledge to us.

The article about County Commissioner Teets focused my thought about work on the ambition that some have to progress from one level of activity to another.  Mr. Teets obviously has ambitions to advance his public service from the local to the state level.  I complement him on his appointment to be the Executive Director of Eastern Operations for the WV Department of Agriculture.  I imagine that this work will take him on the road through out this region, as well as to Charleston.

I agree with the Examiner’s editorial and Nile Gillies Letter to the Editor, that if Mr. Teets has chosen to take this job, he should  relinquish his local responsibilities on the Hardy County Commission.  There are others who are ready to invest themselves in these duties.

For instance, Hunter Williams recently ran for a County Commissioner seat.  He won about 49.99999999% of the vote in that race, suggesting that about half the voters would give him the job.  A. J. Wade endorsed him for the position, suggesting that he might be welcome to fill the seat.  He is also a Republican, which would replace Mr. Teets as the Republican on the Commission, suggesting that we would keep a political balance on the Commission.  I’m willing to nominate Mr. Williams to complete Mr. Teets’ term, assuming that this is consistent with the regulations guiding how we replace a vacant position. David mused about when he will “quit working”.  Maybe the question is better considered as “When did I have the wisdom to pass on one set of duties to take on another?”.

Moorefield Examiner, February 6, 2013

This was another letter to the editor to which I received a phone reply.  One of the County Commissioners called to fill me in on the procedure for filling a seat vacated mid-term.  When was the last time you received a phone call from a government official who was live an not a robo-call?

About hermitsdoor

Up here in the mountains, we have a saying, "You can't get there from here", which really means "We wouldn't go the trouble to do that". Another concept is that "If you don't know, we ain't telling." For the rest, you'll have to read between the lines.
This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to LTTE: Work

  1. The Vicar says:

    I guess the state tax board counts as a government official, and while I was the one that initiated the call, my experiences differed by state. While living in Idaho, I had to file my taxes for the portion of the year I lived in California. I finished them early and sent off my payment. In May I receives a notice from the California Franchise Tax Board that I had not paid my taxes and they were going to levy a fine. I did some checking and confirmed that my check to the FTB had been cashed 6 weeks prior. I called the 800 number and went through numerous phone menus to then wait on hold for more than an hour, after which a message came on to tell me that all of their operators were busy and disconnected the call. The next day I repeated the same procedure, but this time after 1 1/2 hours I talked to a live person and explained receiving a notice about failure to pay tax, yet having my check cashed. I was told that there was a computer glitch and not to worry about it. The system would get updated soon and everything would be cleared up. The person took my information and said they would make a note of the conversation. In June I received another threatening letter regarding my tax status from the state of California. This resulted in similar waits on the phone, disconnections, assurances not to worry. Eventually the letters stopped coming so I guess the problem was resolved, but the time spent on the phone trying to clear up the ‘non-problem” was maddening.

    A few years later I received a letter from the state of Idaho inquring about the same tax year in which I’d had problems in California. There were questions about income earned in California vs. Idaho and they were asking for an explaination. I called the phone number on the letter which was immediately picked up by a live person! We had a conversation of less that 10 minutes about their request which helped me to fill out the form and return it with the proper information and back up. Small states seem to be much more efficient that large states when it comes to taking care of their inhabitants. In California I’m a number, in Idaho I’m a person.

This Hermit's Door is Open: Step in & Share Your Opinion

