Poem: Psalm of Thankgiving

As I mentioned in Father and Son during the service at Westgate Church, the music minister ask members of the congregation to write a psalm of thanksgiving.  Here is what flowed for me.  Maybe this is a way of using 30words to convey what Father and Son took a couple of thousand words to say.  (Anyone else sitting around me have their psalms of thanksgiving to share?)

Words
          the beginning
Time
         connecting
Us
          with each other
Together
         the events that
Compose
         our lives
Sit
         still, silent
To be
        ready for
Moments
        the spark
Conversations
         words
The beginning

Okay, poetry buffs, in case you did not figure this out, you can read this three ways: First, each line follows the next.  Second, read only the capitalized lines on the left margin.  Third, read only the indented lines.  Sort of, the geometric interweaving of phrases.  Nothing can be viewed only one way.

About hermitsdoor

Up here in the mountains, we have a saying, "You can't get there from here", which really means "We wouldn't go the trouble to do that". Another concept is that "If you don't know, we ain't telling." For the rest, you'll have to read between the lines.
This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Poem: Psalm of Thankgiving

  1. Geometric love, with color-coding!

  2. dkzody says:

    I liked reading the lines separately. They had more power that way than all in one piece.

    • hermitsdoor says:

      This was definitely as flow experience. The words fell into place in just a couple of minutes. Other than spelling corrections, I changed nothing about the word choice and spacing. I did not even notice the different options for reading it until a couple of days later when I typed it into a document. Any cleverness was intuitive… or the Vicar would say, inspired.

  3. The Vicar says:

    Beautiful, creative and insightful. I love the way your mind works (the mind God gave you 🙂 ).

    While I doubted that I would have much inspiration in that same short period of time, I took the time to scribble out a few lines.

    When I get weary,
    I remember your patience towards me.
    When I want to quit,
    I remember that you never gave up on me.
    When I feel alnoe,
    You surround me with your presence.

  4. mj monaghan says:

    Really well done, Oscar. Loved this on all the levels.

This Hermit's Door is Open: Step in & Share Your Opinion

