Transfiguration

Stained Glass Window, St. Paul's Church, Wickford, RI: receiving the tablets

We attended the services at St. Paul’s church Sunday (3/6/11).  The texts were about Moses entering the cloud on the mountain to meet God (Exodus 24:12-18); St. Peter reminding the reader of his letter, that he and the other apostles were eye witnesses of Jesus’ ministry, death, and resurrection (2 Peter 1:16-21); and, Jesus’ transfiguration with Moses and Elijah (Matthew 17:1 – 9).  The minister spoke about the transition from the weeks after Epiphany to the Lenten season.  One period of the annual church calendar reminding us of our recognition of Jesus and the other our preparation for change (transformation) over the 40 days Jesus spent in the wilderness.

As with any good sermon, or lecture, or discussion, my mind wanders from what is said to what I interpret.  The span of 40 periods of time caught my attention.  How often has 40 figured into transformation experiences in the biblical texts: 40 days of rain to cleans the earth of the evil which Adam and his descendants brought (does not take so many generations for people to muck things up); 40 years of wandering for Moses and the Israelites between Egypt and the Promised Land; 40 days for Moses to be in the clouds on the mountain before God laid out the plans for the Tabernacle, etc.; 40 days for Jesus to be in the wilderness before entering Jerusalem; 40 days of Lent.

I pondered our own wilderness and wandering experiences.  The cycles of the ancients may touch on our own lives (though I do not think that you have spend time in a sweat lodge in Sodona, AZ).  The Vicar can clarify the theology here, but I suspect that his 40 was course credits at BSU.  I think my 40 shall be in years, of which I have not spent about 30 of them.  I’ll check back with you in 2021.

Part of the Lenten tradition is to give up something precious, according to each one’s desires.  I did not become much aware of this until I moved the East Coast and affiliated with Christians of the Catholic tradition.  I found giving up chocolate or sweets rather trivial.  Maybe that came from my Baptist origins, which specialize in self-deprivation year-round.  I used to bait them by suggesting they give up God for 40 days.

But here is a serious thought.  What would 40 days without God be like, if God is truly what one holds as most precious?  I think that this would not be hedonism, as Fat Tuesday is probably about as much of that which most people would want (unless you are Charlie Shean, who got the boot from his TV sitcom which seemed to glorify what he was fired for recently).  I think that 6 weeks without God, for most believers, would be desolation.  You might as well be Camus wandering the beach for no particular reason, or Sarte with “No Exit”, or maybe the unredeemed Johnny Cash in “Folsom Prison” (“I shot a man in Reno, just to watch him bleed…”).  Well, I best stop here before we get to bluegrass music lyrics…  By whatever process you pursue, may your transformation process bring out better qualities.

About hermitsdoor

Up here in the mountains, we have a saying, "You can't get there from here", which really means "We wouldn't go the trouble to do that". Another concept is that "If you don't know, we ain't telling." For the rest, you'll have to read between the lines.
This entry was posted in Reflections and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Transfiguration

  1. The Vicar says:

    I think it was Stephen Covey that noted it takes 21 days (or experiences) to form a new habit. Perhaps 40 days (or experiences) are needed for transformation. 40 days in a “right now” culture can seem like an eternity.

    40 days without God? I think this is a one way street. From David’s “where can I go that you are not” in the Psalms, to Jesus’ “I will never leave you, nor forsake you”, God is not absent in the relationship. We on the other hand have free will and often make choices to follow our own desires. God does not force us into relationship and allows us the gift of wandering in the wilderness to discover what we really need. For whatever period of time, we choose to pursue idols; material, work, pleasure, sloth, prestige. Yet God remains faithful with his “chesed”, poorly translated in the Old Testament as “lovingkindeness”, rather this is an extravagant, pursuing, unrestrained, undeserved, consuming, passionate, love for us.
    For me, 40 days without God would be desolation. The Apostle Paul calls it slavery (Galatians 5). Exhibit A – Charlie Sheen (yet God still waits patiently for Charlie) … with his 6 sting guitar, playing an old Eagles song, “Desperado, why don’t you come to your senses, you’ve been out riding fences for too long …”

    • hermitsdoor says:

      Dave, Before I posted this comment, I wanted to check on a potential typo about half way through, “God remains faithful to his ‘chesed’…” Did you mean “chosen”? Give me the clarification & I can do the edit.

      The only reason I know about Charlie Shean is that I was on vacation & we had the TV on to get the weather, but we had to put up with drivel like the entertainment news. But, exploit whatever drivel I can… Isn’t that the essence of non-fact checking blogging!

      Thanks, Oscar

      > New comment on your post “Transfiguration” > Author : The Vicar (IP: 71.142.84.169 , > adsl-71-142-84-169.dsl.pltn13.pacbell.net) > E-mail : dlarsonid@yahoo.com > URL : > Whois : http://whois.arin.net/rest/ip/71.142.84.169

      • The Vicar says:

        Hi Oscar,

        The word is “chesed”. It is a Hebrew word regarding God’s love for his creation that has no counterpart in English, hence “lovingkindness” which is found through out the Old Testament, particularly in the Psalms.

        I’m gleaning the Charlie Sheen news the same way, sound bites and headlines.

  2. walkingsmall says:

    Twenty years ago, as a new Catholic, I decided to do the protestant version of Lent – I decided to give up my ‘pride’. It sounded like a thing with meaning, and I was having a hard time with it (still do,) so it appealed to me as a worthy sacrifice for Lent. Also an impossible sacrifice, it turns out. How do you measure it and who keeps track? I should have followed the practice of the seasoned experts in Lent – chocolate or red meat. Much easier.

  3. Hermit says:

    Pride, ego, narcissism… truly a delicate balance to feel confident in one’s abilities but not full of one’s self. I like C. S. Lewis’ conceptualization that being full of one’s self, rather than directed toward God and other’s, is hell. Seems that many people do not have to die to get there these days.

This Hermit's Door is Open: Step in & Share Your Opinion

