The Door Opens

Welcome to the Hermit’s Door.

Inspired by my cousin, Susan, and sister-in-law, Felicia, who have introduced me to their blogging activities, I have decided it’s time to start rambling on my own blog.  So far, I have successfully signed on, added a photo and this much text.  That is pretty good for someone who does not know how to get on Facebook or YouTube.

Why a “hermit”?  Beside being on the shy, introspective side, I think the title fits me well.  Also, I think hermits are under-represented in our society, which values constant activity, little depth of thought, and shallow attachments.  Living in the woods provides one with lots of space and time to contemplate.

Hermits have had great value in other eras of history, especially in religious traditions and communities.  Going into the wilderness has been a hallmark for transformation and mastering one’s demons.  Moses, Buddha, Christ, St. Jerome, Ghandi, each had their days away from the confines and conformity of society.  Well, without getting grandiose, let’s just say that living in the wilderness, you get to see some special things, like burning bushes.  I will settle for a great view of the Milkyway Galaxy in my driveway.

Hermits learn to live frugally and by the application of their survival skills.  Without the “convenience” of close by Big Box stores and DYI departments, one can learn to fix a lot of stuff by saving surplus nuts and bolts, recycling bailing twine and feed sacks, and the judicious positioning of duct tape.  Such a perspective can give different insights into the events of the day.

Having spent the majority of my career in mental health therapy, I have had the chance to interact with folks who usually do not see themselves as fitting into society.  I am not sure how much they have learned from me, but I have learned a lot over the years from them.  Some years ago, while participating in a question-answer task, I received (I never asked my patients to do something that I would not join in) a questions about what quality I would want to develop.  I responded “eccentricity”.  Of course, I had to follow up what I meant by this provocative answer.  I clarified that I enjoyed people who have fun regardless of what the rest of the crowd expected; who developed opinions from their own introspections and were willing to voice them; who pursued a mission in life rather than the accumulation of stuff; who were content with their self, being proud of their talents and accepted their warts.  I think “hermit” sums that up well.  Maybe, I am working toward my goal of excelling and eccentricity.

As I figure out this blog routine, I shall address a variety of topics, based on our activities of the day: farm life, letters to the editor (to the local newspaper), theatre reviews, travels, etc.  Your comments will be instructive toward my developing of blogging skills.

Oscar

P.S. the photo shows a goat roast cooking in our wood stove.  The wood is hickory.

About hermitsdoor

Up here in the mountains, we have a saying, "You can't get there from here", which really means "We wouldn't go the trouble to do that". Another concept is that "If you don't know, we ain't telling." For the rest, you'll have to read between the lines.
This entry was posted in ABOUT, Reflections and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Door Opens

  1. Dave Larson says:

    Outstanding! Neil Postman surmised that in the age of the printing press information became ubiquitous, burdensome, and largely meaningless. In the age of the telegraph, news of an event in Texas could be instantly transmitted to Maine, yet the news of what happened in Texas was largely irrelevant to a person in Maine. In the age of television, news became entertainment and had to be created for the purpose of programing. “Most of our daily news is inert, consisting of information that gives us something to talk about but cannot lead to any meaningful action. ” However, I’ve been to the mountain and visited the hermit. Therefore his insights have context and will no doubt prove useful, perhaps even prompting action thousands of miles away.

  2. walkingsmall says:

    You really know how to start something! The layout is simple and gorgeous. Love the pictures, too. I am so glad to know about the roast. Eccentricity rocks.

  3. Mother Suzanna says:

    Being part of the creator of the original Hermit, of course, I think this blogging period in his life is outstanding. I’ve visited the mountain the Hermit lives on, outstanding. I’ve read the Hermit’s per-blog essays – outstanding. CLICK – I’ve just bookmarked hermitsdoor!

  4. Buget Busting Mamma says:

    It looks like the “Greatest Generation” has finally figured out how to live in the computer world. I posted a comment earlier today, but can’t find it now! But I did manage to get you into my “Favorites”. Now if I could just keep up with Walking Small I’ll have it made. Ahelen

  5. Hermit says:

    BB Mamma,

    Welcome to the cyber world of excess information!

    Hermit

This Hermit's Door is Open: Step in & Share Your Opinion

